A first word

Today I’m starting a new post to mark my independence from my previous employment and begin exploring anew the personal learning network and the resources I’ve already gathered, and will continue to gather on higher education online.

Okay, I’ll admit it. I want to live in a world where education from cradle to grave is freely available for everybody at a variety of levels of complexity, with an emphasis on creativity and joy, within a social context if that’s what you need, or in heavenly solitude if that’s your style, with everybody finding their passions, learning and teaching and sharing and, mostly important contributing to the global community in a way that’s uplifting, productive, sustainable and so on and so on. I’m an unreconstructed idealist who is painfully aware that ideals and reality are often exceedingly far apart, but that one individual taking that first step forward can make a difference.

In future posts, I will review my favorite books on online education, the sites and mentors I have come into contact with, the successes of educational systems, the power of collaborative effort and the joy of mindless and mindful creativity whether or not you have an identifiable talent (like Van Gogh) or you’re pushing along in the primitive enthusiast category (like Grandma Moses).

We’ll see what happens next.

About nancyzingrone

An experienced Moodler, passionate about online education and WizIQ.com, psychology, history, history of psychology, exceptional experiences, survey research, and Second Life
This entry was posted in General statements. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A first word

  1. Natasha Chisdes says:

    This sounds like a great idea!! Can you add a link so we can subscribe and get updates when you add new posts?

  2. nanzingrone says:

    I’m new to WordPress, but I’ll see what I can figure out. So nice to have you be the first commenter! 🙂

  3. I am looking forward to future posts, Nancy!
    Like you, I am aware that ideals don`t usually show up in the real world. And yet, what makes us passionate about education is the commitment that they will, every time we take action.

    “All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake up in the day to find it was vanity, but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible.”
    ― T.E. Lawrence, Seven Pillars of Wisdom: A Triumph
    tags: dreamers, dreaming, dreams, open-eyes, open-mind
    367 people liked it
    like
    “I loved you, so I drew these tides of men into my hands/and wrote my will across the sky in stars”
    ― T.E. Lawrence, Seven Pillars of Wisdom: A Triumph
    54 people liked it
    like
    “Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds awake to find that all was vanity; but the dreamers by day are dangerous men, for they may act out their dreams with open eyes to make them possible.”
    ― T.E. Lawrence

Leave a Reply

